Blephoritis Tea Tree Oil Treatment Update

So this is a follow-up to my post about tea tree oil for treating blephoritis. Luckily, I write this with good news: it’s made a huge difference. I’ve been using it for two weeks now, and I’ve seen some big changes. First, I’m not having tear attacks daily (when your eyes start randomly watering and then start stinging). I still get them occasionally, but they used to occur every day. Another thing I’ve noticed is my eyelids are starting to become sensitive again. This might sound strange, but something I’ve noticed about blephoritis and seborrheic dermatitis is how insensitive skin becomes. I used to scrub my eyelids every morning and evening with a pretty rough wash cloth to exfoliate, because it was the only thing I knew how to do. It was never painful and my skin was never sensitive after that. Now, however, I can’t use a wash cloth to scrub my eyelids anymore. It becomes very irritated, which I actually take as a very good sign. I’m seeing similar changes to using tallow on my eyelids and face (see my post on tallow for oily skin and seborrheic dermatitis to find out more).

When I first started using the tea tree oil, I applied it twice a day to the base of my lashes. I found it to be too irritating to use twice a day after about a week, so I’ve reduced it to once in the evening now. My eyelids still get quite oily during the day, but I’m hoping with time this will improve.

I have added a couple new items to my daily routine: Moroccan Rose toner and Natural Aqua Gel Cure exfoliator. I haven’t used them long enough to write a review for them yet, but I’ll post a review for those soon. Another item I really like for blephoritis or just tired eyes are hot eye masks by KAO. They’re so relaxing, and unlike taking a wash cloth with warm water, the heat lasts 10-15 minutes. It’s about $15 for 14 masks, and you can find it on Amazon in several different scents.

Also, I’m planning to start a video blog to accompany my posts. I mostly want videos to go with my reviews, so if you’re more of a video person, check out my channel and stay tuned! I hope to have my first video review posted within a week.

Leave a comment