Curly Product Review: Aveda

Aveda has found its way to the salon I frequent the most, and since they have a curly hair line, I thought I would try a couple of products.

First, a little background about my 3A curls: they’re thick, and there are a lot of them. My greatest battles are with frizz and volume. It has low porosity, and so I’ve been using a keratin and Agadir oil shampoo until recently when I switched to the Keratin Complex shampoo and conditioner.

I haven’t tried any Aveda shampoos or conditioners, but I have tried one of their volume-reducing masques: the Smooth Infusion Smoothing Masque. It worked like a charm! My hair volume was definitely under better control, and it made my hair really soft. It was easy to use and fuss free, though a little bit on the expensive side. However, it also really made me break out around my ears and frizz was still a bit of an issue.

Now, I’ve included the Aveda Be Curly Curl Controller. It’s also good for reducing volume, and it doesn’t bother my skin like the masque does. It’s a little bit difficult to say how much the Curl Controller is doing for me and how much of it is from the Keratin Complex treatment I recently had done (more on that in a later post). Either way, I’ve started mixing the Curl Controller in with my Redkin 16 Hardwear styling gel to soften the crispy effect of the gel and to help keep the volume under control. If you have trouble with hair volume, I definitely recommend trying it! If you don’t have breakout-prone skin, it would be worth trying the Smoothing Masque as well.

Leave a Reply

