Four Easy Ways to be Kind to Your Skin

I’ve always been a big fan of natural means for skin care, so I wanted to share some of my favorite tips for treating your skin right!

Use Sulfate-Free Products

Recently, I discovered how big of a difference it makes switching to sulfate-free body wash and facial cleanser, especially if you tend to have oily skin. One of the top ingredients in 90% of cleansing products is a sulfate-based compound that is very irritating to the skin and dries it out. This ingredient also can be found in most shampoos, and can be harsh on the scalp and hair. One of the best things I did for my skin and hair was to completely get rid of sulfate-containing washes.

Delicious Treats for Your Face:
Honey and Sugar

Nothing feels more refreshing than a spa day at home. I try to do face masks and scrubs weekly. My favorite face scrub can be made using things from your kitchen: honey and sugar. Honey has moisturizing and antibacterial properties, which helps if you tend to have breakouts. It is also very soothing. I try to buy high quality honey to get the most out of my scrubs. Sugar will help exfoliate the skin and make it nice and smooth.  Use only maybe 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of honey and maybe a teaspoon of sugar for your whole face. Use just a few drops of water once you have the honey and sugar on your face to make it easier to spread and scrub.

Delicious Treats for Your Face:
Yogurt

Another face treat I love is a simple yogurt mask. It’s especially refreshing during hot summers. Yogurt will moisturize and smooth skin while dissolving dead skin and helping pores shrink. Apply generously and let it sit for 20 minutes before rinsing off.

Sun Protection in a Tablet

I do not like sun block. My skin tends to be oily, and sun block makes it worse. Most people don’t realize this, but taking vitamin D acts as natural sun block. When the body has enough vitamin D, the receptors in the skin that receive vitamin D from the sun close. You will still tan from sun exposure even if taking vitamin D, but if you take enough, you won’t burn. I usually take 5,000IU a day. If tablet size is a problem, I recommend Nature’s Bounty 1,000IU gel capsules if you’re in the US (you can find them in almost any store), or Epsilon 5,000IU tablets if you’re in the UK (you can order these on Amazon).

Leave a Reply

